A Frugal Start

Greetings and welcome to my blog. I am an independent bookseller and a bibliophile and thus am constantly broke.  A few years ago I decided to try my hand at growing my own vegetables. There are thousands of titles, both in print and out of print, available to learn about gardening and a multitude of video tutorial on the pros and cons. Most of them are contradictory. The one thing they all have in common is stuff. Apparently, you need to purchase a lot of items to start.

Apparently, you need a lot of stuff to start gardening: Potting soil, tools, fertilizer, pots, planters, sticks, ropes and watering cans, hoses, netting, and seeds. You need to pick a theme because everything HAS TO match in order to work correctly. Go to any gardening store (which is different than a garden supply store) and you can easily see how your house payment can easily be spent in one afternoon. This is hell.

This does not help me.

So I am now going to chronicle a frugal attempt at having a functional garden. My budget for the year is $100. Freecycle, craigslist and wherever else I can find stuff, will provide me with the supplies. It is my intention to utilize as many books as I can to provide a workable set of guidelines to help me. I will list the resources I am using and my progress.

With any luck, I will end up with enough variation of vegetables to prevent me from having to purchase any in the winter months.

So Let’s go.

 

Leave a Reply

